homepage logo

Burke hired as business manager

By Staff | Dec 11, 2019

HUGHESVILLE-The hiring of Heather Burke as the business manager of the East Lycoming School District at a salary of $100,000 per year for a five-year term was approved at a special district board meeting Monday morning, Nov. 25. A starting date is pending receipt of the necessary paperwork.

Burke comes to East Lycoming from the Warrior Run School District where she served as business manager.

Current business manager, David Maciejewski had announced his retirement, effective Feb. 28, 2020, at the Aug. 27 board meeting.

In other business, the board approved using the Levin Legal Group as legal counsel as needed. According to Maciejewski, the move was prompted by the need for additional consultation services.

The board also approved the following personnel items:

Christine Nau as part-time building secretary at Ashkar Elementary at a rate of $13.54 per hour for 4.75 hours per day.

Pauline Kolletzki as part-time supervisory aide at Ashkar Elementary at a rate of $11.46 per hour for 5.25 hours per day.

Corey Kepner as a junior high assistant wrestling coach at a rate of $2,611.

Kathy Eggerton and Geoffrey Harman as daily substitute teaching/support staff.

The resignations of M. Dan Egly, as business manager and Tina Remsnyder as assistant boys track coach and the retirement resignation of Ronald Lorson.

Steve Budman, Lucas Drick, Aaron Fry, Heath Strickland, Troy Hansen, Michael Walton and Nate Hill as wrestling season athletic volunteers.

The East Lycoming School Board held its reorganizational meeting on Wednesday, Dec. 4 and unanimously reappointed Richard Michael as school board president and Michael Mamrak as vice president for 2020.

Two new members, Shannon McConnel-Barlett and Rose Trevouledes, also were sworn in along side re-elected members Donna Gavitt, Robert Heckerote and Michael, who were appointed for four-year-terms.

School board members unanimously adopted the rules and regulations by the Pennsylvania School Board Association.

The board also took time to reappoint members for different committees and boards including the Career and Technology Center, Goals and Athletic committees.

Gavitt was appointed as the Legislative chair woman.

Mamrak was appointed as the board representative for the CTC committee alongside Trevouledes, who will be Mamrak’s alternate.

The next meeting is slated for 7 p.m. Jan.7, 2020, at Hughesville High School, 349 Cemetery St., Hughesville.