homepage logo

East and West Sectional Winners

By Staff | Feb 18, 2009

In East Sectional wrestling, Muncy High School had six wrestlers place this past weekend in Benton at the District IV AA wrestling sectionals and will advance to compete at districts this weekend in Williamsport.

Top five place winners will then advance to regionals the following weekend. Aaron Fry (135), a junior at Muncy High School, remains undefeated with a record of 33-0 after a technical fall against Hughesville’s Jamal Beechey for the championship title.

Also taking home the title were brothers, sophomore Zach Strickland (140) defeating Elias Biddle, Warrior Run by decision 5-4 and freshman Heath Strickland (103) pinned Sullivan County’s Brian Smith, 4:20.

Also placing and advancing will be third place winners Andrew Gilchrest (112); Frank Smith (145) and Cody Shreck (171).

Hughesville will advance five wrestlers. Brad Poust, a freshman wrestling 189, defeated Ryan Longenberger, Bloomsburg 3-1 OT for the championship title. Also placing and advancing are second place winners Jamal Beechey (135) and Chet Ritter (285) and third place Tyler Snyder (125) and Dakota May (160).

Montgomery wrestlers wrestled at the West Sectional District 4 in Montoursville. The Raiders have five place winners who will advance to districts this weekend. Crowned champions are Garrett Shynder (140) defeating Eli Rusczyk, Montoursville, 5-1; Dakota Deem (152) decision over Cy Heller, Milton; and Bobby Hecknauer (189) decision over Andy Engler, Loyalsock, 3-1. Seth Barlett (125) placed second after he was defeated by Loyalsock’s Drew Reed and Troy Minier (135) was pinned by Montoursville’s Caleb Lomax.