homepage logo

Soap Box Derby Winner

By Staff | Jun 29, 2012

Joey LaRose, 11, from Muncy holds his winning trophy after last Saturday's race in downtown Williamsport.

Joey LaRose, 11 from Muncy won first place in the stock division Saturday afternoon at the third annual Soap Box Derby held in downtown Williamsport. Saturday’s race was the second soap box derby event for LaRose, who lost to the 2011 champion, Tyler Bolton. LaRose will go on to compete in the 75th All-American Soap Box Derby race, held in Akron, Ohio. Champion McKinsey Sauers and John LaRose each received a Darwin Cooper Trophy during the closing ceremony in memory of the only city racer to win in Akron, back in 1951.