homepage logo

East Lycoming Juniors End Runner-up

By Staff | Jul 17, 2012

East Lycoming catcher Jake Snyder stops a wild pitch during the first inning against Montoursville.

Montoursville 14, East Lycoming 4

East Lycoming started off the District 12 Junior Baseball championship against Montoursville with three runs after leadoff batter Nate Hampton was hit by a pitch, a single by Jake Snyder, followed by Zach Fry clearing the bases with a double to centerfield.

But the lead did not stay long. Nick Yeager struggled at the mound for East Lycoming in the bottom of the first with the Hughesville team winning 3-0. Montoursville took full advantage with two walks and two errors to respond with six runs. They opened the inning with seven of the first nine batters reaching by way of walk until Nate Krizan cleared the bases with a two-RBI double into left field.

With runners on first and second, Montoursville’s Curtis Miller singled home Russo with a hard liner into left field. East Lycoming’s second error in four batters then helped Plants and Miller score. Montoursville drew two more walks, which were followed by a series of wild pitches to score another run. Cole Karshner capped the scoring with a two-RBI single into the right-center field gap.

Fry relieved Yeager for East Lycoming and was able to hold Montoursville without a run until the fifth inning when he was pulled after a couple of walks and over 75 pitches.

Montoursville advances to the Section 3 Tournament which begins on July 18. The District 12 champs will open against the District 13 champions. All Section 3 games will be played at Monroe Township in District 13.

East Lycoming 300 001 0-4 6 2

Montoursville 600 070 X-7 4 0

Nick Yeager, Zack Fry (1), Adam Warburton (5), Logan Bower (6) and Jake Snyder. Nate Krizan, Devin Singer (5) and Curtis Miller. WP-Krizan. LP-Yeager.

Top East Lycoming hitters: Zach Fry 2-3, 2B, 2 runs, 2 RBI. Top Montoursville hitters: Krizan 1-2, 2B, 2 runs, 2 RBI; Cole Karshner 1-2, run, 2 RBI.