homepage logo

Wrestling Roundup

By Staff | Feb 13, 2015

The Muncy High School Varsity wrestling team captured the Heartland Area Conference III title last week in their final regular season match edging the Benton Tigers, 33-30.

Muncy won the HAC-III title edging Benton, 33-30. At 113 state qualifier Angelo Barberio defeated Alan Diltz, also a state qualifier, by a decision of 7-3, and Dan Hall got the win at 145 by a major decision over Joe Smith, 14-2.

285: Nick Roberts (M), forfeit. 106: Joe Klock (B), forfeit. 113: Angelo Barberio (M) over Alan Diltz (B), dec. 7-3. 120: Jacob Dgien (M) over Cole Rhone (B) dec. 8-4. 126: Abien Berry (M) over Wyatt (B), maj. dec. 10-1. 132: Anthony Vitale (B) over Andy Aguilar (M) dec. 1-0. 138: Noah Gush (M) over Frank Macierowski (B) maj. dec. 16-7. 145: Dan Hall (M) over Joe Smith (B) maj. dec. 14-2. 152: Dakota Nixon (M) over Dominic Vitale (B) dec. 6-5. 160: Cam Good (M) over Ryan Lynn (B) fall, :50. 170: Jeremy Walsh (B) over Junior Ramos (M) dec. 8-7. 182: Matt Cawski (B) over Jordan King (M) fall, 2:11. 195: Logan Womelsdorf (B), forfeit. 220: Marcus Welliver (B) over Hunter Gardner (M) fall, 1:08.

Hughesville 60, Sullivan County 15

Hughesville grapplers defeated the Sullivan County, 60-15 with pins coming from Trevor Sones and Jake Stutzman.

Muncy 63, Loyalsock 12

Cam Good got a pin for the Indians in 34 seconds in the 145-pound weight class. Good has recorded 25 falls this season which is an area best.

Jacob Dgien picked up a second-period fall over Alex Vogel as Muncy beat Loyalsock, 63-12.

138: Noah Gush, M, pinned Jalil Harris, :58. 145: Cam Good, M, pinned Trevor Eubanks, :34. 152: Dan Hall, M, won by forfeit. 160: Tylor Rupert, M, won by forfeit. 170: Zach Shuman, L, pinned Jordan King, 1:44. 182: Junior Ramos, M, dec. I-Keem Fogan, 9-2. 195: Hunter Gardner, M, pinned Ares Henriquez, 1:45. 220: Double forfeit. 285: Nick Roberts, M, pinned Brennan Moodie, 3:47. 106: Troy Eubanks, L, won by forfeit. 113: Angelo Barberio, M, pinned Dominique Martinez, 1:01. 120: Jacob Dgien, M, pinned Alex Vogel, 4:00. 126: Abien Berry, M, pinned Garrett Jordan, 2:27. 132: Andy Aguilar, M, pinned Cullen Harrell, :50.

South Williamsport 51, Montgomery 28

Montgomery’s Kyle Bennett won the 126 bout with a tech fall over Billy Kline, 16-0, and Zach Shadle followed by pinning Eric Reaser, 2:25 but it wasn’t enough as the Mounties defeated the Red Raiders , 51-28.

170: Thomas Goetz (M) pinned Conner Mazzante, 2:37. 182: Rocco Bausinger (SW) by forfeit. 195: Nolan Moore (SW) pinned Taylor Budman, 2:39. 220: Austin Shanklin (SW) dec. Zechariah Beachel, 8-2. 285: Noah Hartley (SW) by forfeit. 106: Chad Banzhof (SW) by forfeit. 113: Lucas Drick (M) tech fall Alex Snyder, 16-0 (4:36). 120: Jacob Chamberlin (M) by forfeit. 126: Kyle Bennett (M) tech fall Billy Kline, 16-0 (3:45). 132: Zach Shadle (M) pinned Eric Reaser, 2:25. 138: Tyler Webb-Verbeski (SW) by forfeit. 145: Nathan Jones (SW) by forfeit. 152: Zach Manning (SW) by forfeit0. 160: Dominick Threeton (SW) by forfeit.

Warrior Run 60, Montgomery 18

Montgomery’s Jacob Chamberlin defeated Warrior Run’s Jeremy Hanford, 9-7, at 120 pounds, but the Defenders beat the Red Raiders, 60-18. Montgomery’s Thomas Goetz topped Brett Boush at 160, 4-2.

113: Lucas Drick, M, pinned Jared Miller, 4:41. 120: Jacob Chamberlin, M, dec. Jeremy Hanford, 9-7. 126: Kyle Bennett, M, won by forfeit. 132: Eric Hunt, W, won by forfeit. 138: Zack LeBarron, W, won by forfeit. 145: Derek Orwig, W, won by forfeit. 152: Tyler Hornberger, W, won by forfeit. 160: Thomas Goetz, M, dec. Brett Boush, 4-2. 170: Andrew Walker, W, won by forfeit. 182: Pacey Howard, W, won by forfeit. 195: Wes Cupp, W, pinned Tayllor Budman, 1:01. 220: Hunter Bohannon, W, won by forfeit. 285: Jorge Guillen, W, pinned Zechariah Beachel, :50. 106: Trey Heiss, W, won by forfeit.