homepage logo

Muncy Gridiron ends drought

By Staff | Nov 16, 2016

The Muncy Indian football team and coaches celebrate after capturing its first District title after 30 years last Friday night defeating Sayre, 13-0. The team moves on and will play the District 3 champions this Friday night at 7 p.m. in Harrisburg.

Muncy 13, Sayre 0

Muncy’s defensive line and line backers stopped Sayre offense as the Indians ended their 30-year drought winning the District 4 Class A title Friday night, 13-0. The last time the Indians won the title was in 1986.

Muncy will travel to Harrisburg on Friday night to play District 3 champion Steel-High .

Muncy held Sayre and forced turnovers on downs while owning the clock as it ticked away any time for the Redskins to rally. Muncy held the ball nearly four-and-a-half minutes, driving to the Sayre 8, and while Muncy missed the field goal chance with 29 seconds to play, it still sealed the game.

Chris Titman kicked two field goals, one for 28 yards in the second quarter with 12 seconds until halftime to give Muncy a 10-0 lead and then another in the fourth to make it a 13-0

Muncy’s defense stopped Sayre’s offense on the ground and in the air in the first half holding them to just 66 total yards. Sayre’s passing game was held to 0 for 8 in the second half. Sayre was just 2 for 12 on third down conversions.

Muncy got on the board when Colby Alpaugh capped a 6-play drive with a two-yard touchdown run to give Muncy an early 7-0 lead. Alpaugh had 56 rushing yards on 14 carries.

Muncy’s offensive line played tough blocking as quarterback Coleman Good ran for 104 yards on 22 carries and was 10 for 16 for 143 passing yards. Five receivers each had catches from Good, as Alpaugh had two for 52 yards, Adam Dietrick had two for 35 and Peyton Hulyo had three for 28.

The Indians held a 326-158 total yard advantage and defensively, forced Sayre to punt the ball six times.