homepage logo

Red Raiders advance in playoffs

By Staff | Jun 1, 2018

RUTH FRY/The Luminary The Indians had a 2-1 lead in the District 4 Class AA quarterfinal game against South Williamsport when Muncy senior, Nate Paisley, brought in two runs. Above, Paisley (right) tags a baserunner stealing second.

Gage Yohn did not give up an earned run in 5 1/3 innings of three-hit ball, Brayden Strouse earned the save in 1 2/3 innings, and Jensen Drick’s two-run, fifth-inning home run helped the Raiders as they opened the District 4 Class A playoffs with a 4-1 win over Canton last Wednesday.

Drick, one of four Montgomery seniors, went 2 for 3 with the two-run home run and three RBIs. Back-to-back singles on back-to-back pitches by Eithan Marino and Drick in the first inning gave Montgomery an early 1-0 lead. It added the second run in the fourth on Trevor Miller’s single up the middle. Montgomery has won nine of its last 10 and four straight and played Sayre on Saturday in the district semi-finals.

Canton 000 010 0 – 1 4 0 Montgomery 100 120 x – 4 7 2

Taylor Acla, Micheal Smithers (3rd) and Kaden Martell. Gage Yohn, Brayden Strouse (6th) and Jensen Drick. WYohn (6-1). LAcla. SStrouse.

Top Canton hitters: Cameron Bellows, 2-3; Micheal Smithers, 1-3; Carter Route, 1-3. Top Montgomery hitters: Eithan Marino, 1-2; Jensen Drick, 2-3, 2-run HR, 3 RBIs; Brayden Strouse, 1-3; Ethan Litzelman, 1-2, SB, R; Tyler Shadle, 1-2, 2B, 2 SB. Records: Montgomery (13-5); Canton (10-11). Next: Montgomery at Sayre


Sayre 7, Montgomery 2

Montgomery could not hold on to their early lead against Sayre this past Saturday and ended their season in the District 4 Class A semifinals losing 7-2. The Raiders (13-6) took a 2-0 second-inning lead and held it until the fifth inning when Sayre (13-5) tied it. The defending champions scored five times in the sixth while Montgomery had five errors. Brayden Strouse and Gage Yohn both scored in the opening two innings. Kalen Guyer was 1 for 1 and Strouse, Hayden Ross and Jensen Drick all went 1 for 2 total seven hits for the Raiders. Sayre will take on top seeded Millville in the finals.

Montgomery 110 000 02 7 5

Sayre 000 025 x7 9 2

Brayden Strouse, Gage Yohn (5) and Jensen Drick. Nate Sweet and Connor Hanafin. WSweet. LYohn.

Top Montgomery hitters: Yohn 1-4, 2B, run; Drick 1-2; Strouse 1-2, run; Hayden Ross 1-2; Kalen Guyer 1-1; Trevor Miller 1-3. Top Sayre hitters: Q. Hanafin 2-2, 2B, 2 RBIs; C. Hanafin 1-4, 3B; James Esposito 2-3.

Records: Sayre (13-5), Montgomery (13-6).

Millville 6, CV 4


CV 004 000 04 3 2

Millville 011 031 x 6 8 3

K. Easton, Owen Fitzwater (5), Seth Huyler (7) and Owen Fitzwater, Easton (5). Zane Robbins, Gavin Barton (3) and Trent Longenberger. WBarton. LFitzwater.

Top Cowanesque?Valley hitters: Christian Kemp, 1-3, 2 RBIs; Huyler, 1-3, RBI. Top Millville hitters: Longenberger, 3-3, RBI.

District 4 Class AA Quarterfinals

South Williamsport 8, Muncy 4

The Mounties scored four runs en route to an 8-4 win over Muncy in the District 4 Class AA quarterfinals at South Williamsport last Wednesday.

Muncy had a 2-1 lead when Nathan Paisley brought in two runs scoring both Coleman Good and Sidney Alpaugh (2 for 4, two stolen bases). South Williamsport tied the game at 2-2 in the bottom of the third. The Mounties then went ahead by two runs in the bottom of the fifth. Muncy tied it again in the top of the sixth when Paisley reached on a dropped third strike and scored on a Coty Steele single to right. Tanner Gold then drove in Steele to make it 4-4. The Mounties continued rallying in the bottom of the sixth scoring four more runs to keep the lead and eliminating the Indians from playoffs.

Muncy 002 002 0 – 4 8 2 S.W. 101 024 x – 8 9 0

Coleman Good, Colby Alpaugh (6) and Tanner Gold. Logan Burkett, Tripp Breen (6) and Dom Harding. WBreen. LAlpaugh.

Top Muncy hitters: Colby Alpaugh 2-4, 2 SB, run; Nathan Paisley, 1B, 2 RBIs. Top South Williamsport hitters: Hunter Finn 2-3, 2B, SB, 4 runs; Ben Johnson, 1B, 2 RBIs, run, SB; Gideon Green 2-4, 2B, 2 RBIs; Peter Sinibaldi 2-3, RBI, SB. Records: South Williamsport (12-6), Muncy (8-11).