homepage logo

Muncy Grapplers win Sectional Title

By Staff | Feb 21, 2019

RUTH FRY/The Luminary The Muncy Indians won the Central Sectional team title with 187.5 points under new Head Coach Royce Eyer this past Saturday night in Hughesville. This is their second consecutive team title. The Indians finished with four champions and six place winners who will make their way to Williamsport this Friday night to compete in the PIAA District 4 Class AA tournament.

Four Muncy wrestlers captured Central Sectional titles in their respective weight classes in Hughesville Saturday night, Bryce Vollman (126), Mario Barberio (138), Ty Nixon (160) and Mike Kustanbauter (182). The Indians totaled 10 place winners in all and will advance to this weekends District 4 Class AA tournament in Williamsport beginning Friday night and finishing Saturday. Muncy also won their second consecutive Central Sectional team title with 187.5 points under new Head Coach Royce Eyer. Including the champions earning a spot at the tournament this upcoming weekend are: Chase Crawley (113) 2nd; Grady Oden (120)-3rd; Christian Good (145)-2nd; Coleman Good (152)-2nd; Ethan Gush (170) 3rd; and Cael Hembury (285) 2nd.

Hughesville is advancing five place winners including runner up Luke Gorg at 138. They are Ben Heinrich (126) 3rd; Gorg (138) 2nd; Caleb Dixon (145)-3rd; Nick Marris (182)4th; and Caleb Burkhart (220) 3rd; and heavyweight Hunter Robbins-3rd.

The Montgomery Red Raiders also have five grapplers finishing in the top four spots and will be making the trip to the district tourney: Hunter Leet (120) 4th; Kai Felix (126) 4th; Devon Deem (132) 2nd; Colby Puderbach (145) 4th; and Dan Beckley (192) 4th.


(Both advance to District 4 tournament)

106: Kayden Frame, Mt, dec. Kaden Majcher, WR, 15-8. 113: Landan Kurtz, WR, dec. Xan Oberheim, Mt, 6-2. 120: Grady Oden, Mu, pinned Hunter Leet, Mg, 2:14. 126: Ben Heinrich, Hu, pinned Kai Felix, Mg, 3:38. 132: Landon Lorson, SW, pinned Dalton Watt, Bl, 0:52. 138: Gabe Waltman, CC, pinned Nathan Michael, WR, 3:20. 145: Caleb Dixon, Hu, medical forfeit Colby Puderbach, Mg. 152: Nolan Lear, Be, maj. dec. Troy Johnson, CC, 9-1. 160: Sam Crawford, WR, medical forfeit Caleb Moser, Mt. 170: Ethan Gush, Mu, dec. Isaac Gensemer, CC, 5-2. 182: Dylan Devlin, CC, dec. Nick Maris, Hu, 12-7. 195: Rion Withers, SW, dec. Dan Beckley, Mg, 4-1. 220: Caleb Burkhart, Hu, dec. Logan McWilliams, CC, 7-3. 285: Hunter Robbins, Hu, pinned Casey Stewart, Lo, 1:29.


(Both advance to District 4 tournament)

106: Bobby Gardner, SW, dec. Zach Kremer, Be, 3-2. 113: Gable Strickland, Be, pinned Chase Crawley, Mu, 3:50. 120: Noah Hunt, WR, dec. Broc Lutz, Mt, 11-5. 126: Bryce Vollman, Mu, dec. Caden Temple, Be, 1-0. 132: Isaac Kester, CC, dec. Devon Deem, Mg, 3-0. 138: Mario Barberio, Mu, dec. Luke Gorg, Hu, 5-3, sv. 145: Nate Snyder, CC, dec. Christian Good, Mu, 4-2. 152: Cael Crebs, Mt, dec. Coleman Good, Mu, 6-0. 160: Ty Nixon, Mu, dec. Jacob Busch, CC, 7-4. 170: Dylan Bennett, Mt, pinned Jake Mattive, Bl, 3:35. 182: Mike Kustanbauter, Mu, pinned Gavin Livermore, Mt, 0:55. 195: Gable Crebs, Mt, maj. dec. Jack Schechterly, CC, 9-0. 220: Cameron Wood, Mt, dec. Zach Poust, Be, 8-3. 285: Alex Eveland, CC, dec. Cael Hembury, Mu, 6-3.