homepage logo

Barberio wins first district title

By Staff | Feb 27, 2019

RUTH FRY/The Luminary Muncy’s Mario Barberio (138) won his first district title this past Saturday night at the PIAA District 4 Class AA tournament after he defeated Avery Bassett of Midd West, 5-0.

PIAA District 4 Class AA Tournament

Muncy’s Mario Barberio (138) won his first district title this past Saturday night at the PIAA District 4 Class AA tournament after he defeated Avery Bassett of Midd West, in the championship bout, 5-0. Barberio will be advancing to the Northeast Regional Tournament this Friday and Saturday in Williamsport. The top four place winners from there will advance to the PIAA Class AA State championships in Hershey on March 6-9. Along with Barberio teammates finishing in the top five and earning their spot in the regional tournament are 2nd place finishers Bryce Vollman, (126) and Mike Kustanbauter (182); Ty Nixon, (160)-3rd place; Coleman Good, (152)-5th place; and Ethan Gush, (170)-5th place. Ben Heinrich, (126), Hughesville, will make his first trip to the regional tournament finishing in 4th place along with teammate, and 2018 state qualifier, Luke Gorg, (138), who also finished in fourth. Montgomery freshman, Devon Deem, also will be heading to Williamsport after his fourth place finish in the 132 weight division.

Southern Columbia won its second consecutive team title, sending 12 of its 14 wrestlers to the regional tournament to score 246 points. Muncy, with its seven regional qualifiers, finished second with 120.5 points. Montoursville finished fourth with five regional qualifiers with 110 points.

Team standings: 1, Southern Columbia, 246; 2, Muncy, 120.5; 3, Midd-West, 113; 4, Montoursville, 110; 5, Mifflimburg, 75; 6, Central Columbia, 73.5; 7, Benton, 66; 8, Line Mountain, 65.5; 9, Troy, 63.5; 10, Towanda, 53; 11, Milton, 52.5; 12, Lewisburg, 51; 13, Athens, 43.5; 14, Wyaluing, 43; 15, Warrior Run, 40; 16, Jersey Shore, 38; 17, Hughesville, 36; t-18, Danville, 29; t-18, North Penn-Liberty, 29; 20, Mount Carmel, 27; 21, Sullivan County, 25; t-22, Northeast Bradford, 23; t-22, Williamson, 23; t-24, Canton, 17; t-24, Montgomery, 17; 26, South Williamsport, 13; 27, Shamokin, 9; 28, Bloomsburg, 6; t-29, Loyalsock, 0; t-29, Sayre, 0; t-29, Sugar Valley, 0.

Team key: Athens, At; Benton, Be; Bloomsburg, Bl; Canton, Ca; Central Columbia, CC; Danville, Da; Hughesville, Hu; Jersey Shore, JS; Lewisburg, Le; Line Mountain, LM; Loyalsock, Lo; Midd-West, MW; Mifflinburg, Mf; Milton, Mi; Montgomery, Mg; Montoursville, Mt; Mount Carmel, MC; Muncy, Mu; North Penn-Liberty, NP; Northeast Bradford, NEB; Sayre, Sa; Shamokin, Sh; South Williamsport, SW; Southern Columbia, SC; Sullivan County, Su; Sugar Valley, SV; Towanda, To; Troy, Tr; Warrior Run, WR; Williamson, Wi; Wyalusing, Wy.

Fifth-Place Consolations (Winner advances to Northeast Region tournament)

106: Blake Wirt, LM, dec. Kaden Majcher, WR, 10-8. 113: Liam Goodrich, JS, maj. dec. Landon Hopper, Da, 18-8. 120: Aidan Steininger, MW, dec. Garrett Krebs, SC, 1-0. 126: T.J. Walter, Mi, maj. dec. Ethan Zevan, MW, 11-2. 132: Logan Newton, Wy, dec. Isaac Kester, CC, 7-5, sv. 138: Mike Miner, SC, dec. Gabe Waltman, CC, 10-9, tb. 145: Nate Snyder, CC, pinned Bailey Cohick, Tr, 3:39. 152: Coleman Good, Mu, maj. dec. Maximus Madden, Sh, 16-3. 160: Josh Rodriguez, MW, dec. Sam Crawford, WR, 12-7. 170: Ethan Gush, Mu, dec. Garrett Storch, Ca, 7-0. 182: Shane Weidner, MC, dec. Matt Dunkle, Da, 3-2. 195: Trey Lauver, MW, pinned Rion Withers, SW, 0:33. 220: Jackson Chilson, Wy, dec. Austin Reed, MC, 7-4. 285: Randy Wildrick, Wy, maj. dec. Cael Hembury, Mu, 11-0.

Third-Place Consolations (Both advance to Northeast Region tournament)

106: Kaiden Wagner, Le, pinned Andrew Johnson, Da, 2:38. 113: Kole Biscoe, SC, tech. fall Mason Leshock, LM, 16-0, 4:55. 120: Kyler Crawford, Mi, pinned Jacob Bruyn, Wy, 1:56. 126: Ian Yoder, SC, dec. Ben Heinrich, Hu, 6-3. 132: Ian Coller, LM, medical forfeit Devon Deem, Mg. 138: Clayton Reed, Mf, dec. Luke Gorg, Hu, 7-0. 145: Eric Gessner, Mf, dec. Preston Rogers, To, 3-1. 152: Shane Miller, SC, dec. Isaac Cory, Tr, 3-1. 160: Ty Nixon, Mu, dec. Jacob Busch, CC, 3-1, sv. 170: Jacob Feese, LM, pinned Jansen Houdeshell, Mf, 4:11. 182: Cameron Andrews, NP, dec. Tyler Waltman, SC, 4-2. 195: Jack Schechterly, CC, dec. Clay Green, To, 9-3. 220: Preston Zachman, SC, pinned Zach Poust, Be, 1:26. 285: Dawson Brown, NEB, medical forfeit Owen Zechman, MW.

Championship Finals (Both advance to Northeast Region tournament)

106: Sheldon Seymour, Tr, tech. fall Gavin Bradley, At, 19-4, 5:47. 113: Gable Strickland, Be, dec. Gabe Gramly, Mf, 3-0. 120: Broc Lutz, Mt, dec. Noah Hunt, WR, 7-0. 126: Matt Carpenter, Wi, dec. Bryce Vollman, Mu, 6-0. 132: Patrick Edmondson, SC, dec. Nate Higley, 4-2, sv. 138: Mario Barberio, Mu, dec. Avery Bassett, MW, 5-0. 145: Gavin Garcia, SC, won by forfeit Kameron Kline, MW. 152: Nolan Lear, Be, dec. Cael Crebs, Mt, 3-2, UTB. 160: Cade Linn, SC, dec. Cooper Mosier, To, 7-2. 170: Dylan Bennett, Mt, dec. David Galasso, At, 4-0. 182: Hunter O’Connor, JS, dec. Mike Kustanbauter, Mu, 9-3. 195: Gaige Garcia, SC, dec. Gable Crebs, Mt, 10-4. 220: Dakotah Snyder, Le, dec. Cameron Wood, Mt, 3-1, sv. 285: Lear Quinton, SC, dec. Nevin Rauch, Mi, 12-1.

Most falls, least amount of time: Trey Lauver, Midd-West; Junior high coach of the year: Devon Weed, Canton; Assistant coach of the year: Kent Lane, Southern Columbia; Coach of the year: Jerry Marks, Southern Columbia; District 4 Coaches Association Official of the Year: Rocky Miller; Max Shnyder Scholarship Award Winners: Preston Rogers, Towanda; Cameron Andrews, North Penn-Liberty; Dakotah Snyder, Lewisburg.