homepage logo

District 4 Central Sectional Wrestling Results

By Staff | Feb 19, 2020

RUTH FRY/The Luminary Heavyweight Caleb "Noodle" Burkhart, Hughesville, won his first Sectional title Saturday night when he pinned Alexx Eveland of Central Columbia in 3:55. Burkhart came into the to tournament seeded third spot.

(Top 4 place winners advance to this week’s District 4 tournament to begin Friday night at Williamsport High School.

The Indians captured its third consecutive Central Sectional title advancing all 10 of its wrestlers to next week’s District 4 tournament with Top-4 finishes including four champions-Scott Johnson, (113); Jacob Blair, (126); Bryce Vollman, (132); and Mario Barberio, (145). Finishing in second were Ethan Gush (170 pounds), Tristen Ditzler (182) and Bailey Hadzinikolov (195). Christian Good took third at 152, and Cael Hembury (285) and Chase Crawley (120) finished fourth. Crawley forfeited his third-place match, and Hembury injury defaulted after being tested by the trainer for a concussion. It was the second consecutive year Muncy qualified double-digit wrestlers to the district tournament. Last year it had 11 qualifiers.

Hughesville is advancing four of its wrestlers on Friday night with with two champions-Luke Gorg (138), and Caleb Burkhart (285). Caiden Puderbach (120) finished second; and Hayden Robbins taking fourth at 220.

Montgomery Red Raiders are advancing five of their wrestlers: Devon Deem finished second in the 152 weight class; finishing third were Blake Snyder (120); and Colby Puderbach (145); and fourth place finishers Kaide Drick (160) and Ben Marino (182)

Championship Finals

106: Cade Wirnsberger, MC, dec. Bobby Gardner, SW, 6-2. 113: Scott Johnson, Mu, pinned Kaden Majcher, WR, 3:45. 120: Gable Strickland, Be, pinned Caiden Puderbach, Hu, 3:53. 126: Jacob Blair, Mu, tech. fall Colton Chipeleski, CC, 18-3, 1:55. 132: Bryce Vollman, Mu, dec. Noah Hunt, WR, 7-5. 138: Luke Gorg, Hu, won by forfeit Isaac Kester, CC. 145: Mario Barberio, Mu, dec. Landon Lorson, SW, 5-0. 152: Troy Johnson, CC, dec. Devon Deem, Mg, 3-2. 160: Nolan Lear, Be, dec. Isaac Cory, Mo, 2-1, tb. 170: Cael Crebs, Mo, dec. Ethan Gush, Mu, 7-0. 182: Dylan Bennett, Mo, pinned Tristen Ditzler, Mu, :55. 195: Dylan Devlin, CC, dec. Bailey Hadzinikolov, Mu, 3-2. 220: Cameron Wood, Mo, dec. Zach Poust, Be, 10-4. 285: Caleb Burkhart, Hu, pinned Alexx Eveland, 3:55.

Third-place consolations

106: Ethan Kolb, Be, dec. Branden Wentzel, Mo 6-4. 113: Dylan Granahan, Be, pinned Jake Leonardo, Bl, :57. 120: Blake Snyder, Mg, won by forfeit Chase Crawley, Mu. 126: Caden Temple, Be, dec. Broc Lutz Mo, 6-1. 132: James Batkowski, Mo, pinned Gabe Harvey, SW, :39. 138: Dalton Watt, Bl, dec. Xan Oberheim, Mo, 6-1. 145: Colby Puderbach, Mg, maj. dec. Nick Wharton, Bl, 13-2. 152: Christian Good, Mu, pinned Jake Dinges, Mo, 1:25. 160: Stephen Roeder, Bl, dec. Kaide Drick, Mg, 4-1. 170: Lane Lusk, SW, won by forfeit Sam Crawford, WR. 182: Sam Hostrander, SW, pinned Ben Marino, Mg, 2:34. 195: Caleb Moser, Mo, pinned Jake Casella, SW, 2:16. 220: Logan McWilliams, CC, pinned Hayden Robbins, Hu, 2:49. 285: Gunner Treibley, MC, inj. def. Cael Hembury, Mu,