homepage logo

Montgomery holds National Honor Society induction

By Staff | Apr 25, 2019

JADE HEASLEY/The Luminary   Ten Montgomery Area High School students were inducted into the National Honor Society on April 16.  The ceremony was overseen by guidance counselor, Denise Liscum and Junior/Senior High School principal, Joseph Stoudt.

MONTGOMERY – Montgomery Area High School held a National Honor Society Induction Ceremony on Tuesday, April 16. Ten students in grades ten and eleven joined the Chapter that had sixteen members in eleventh and twelfth grade. Montgomery’s chapter is named The Evadne Ruggles Chapter in honor of a beloved former English teacher who retired from the District in 1964.

The National Honor Society is limited to high school students who are sophomores, juniors, and seniors and have a cumulative grade point average of 95 percent or higher and embody the four ideals of the National Honor Society: Scholarship, Character, Leadership, and Service.

The ceremony was overseen by Denise Liscum, the high school guidance counselor, and Joseph Stoudt, the Junior/Senior High School Principal. After Mrs. Liscum welcomed the inductees and the attendees, she spoke of all the current and new inductees’ successes both inside and outside the classroom. In addition to their exceptional academic achievements, the students are involved in a wide range of activities including the school’s sports and music programs, and in church and volunteer organizations.

After the opening remarks, new inductee Brianna Gardner, a junior, sang the National Anthem. Joseph Stoudt then spoke about membership in the Society, and Tara Bozella, the Director of Student Services, spoke about the symbolism of the Honor Society’s emblem.

During the ceremony a table displayed a banner with the emblem and was set with five candles. The central candle was lit, and four unlit candles stood for each of the Society’s ideals. The four candles were lit progressively throughout the ceremony as each ideal was explained in a short speech. Four current members shared brief but wisdom-laden words about the four ideals of the society. Junior Laura Ulrich spoke about Scholarship, senior Novalee Leonard spoke about Character, junior Dylan Ring spoke about Leadership, and senior Caleb Hipple spoke about Service.

Denise Liscum and Joseph Stoudt then inducted the new members, and each student came forward to receive a certificate as well as an honorary sash that they will wear at their commencement ceremony. The junior inductees were: Breanna Gardner, Kade Showers, Kana Showers, and Jaelyn Woods. The sophomore inductees were: Zachary Ettinger, McKenzie Heasley, Iris Keister, Kennedy Marsh, Katelyn Taylor, and Breanna Twigg.

After the presentations, senior member Emma Klopp led the newest members in the National Honor Society pledge, and then Joseph Stoudt gave a speech to recognize the acceptance of the new members.

The concluding remarks were then given by Denise Liscum, who reminded the students that the smallest bit of extra effort makes all the difference. She pointed out that at 212 degrees water boils, turns into steam, and can power a locomotive. But at 211 degrees, water is merely hot.

In addition to the new inductees, the ceremony was attended by the Society’s current members. The senior members are: Aubrey Divler, Caleb Hipple, Enogita Imeri, Emma Klopp, Novalee Leonard, Bailey Seagraves, Emily Shirey, Brayden Strouse, Spencer Trostle, and Megan Twigg. The junior members are: Dylan Ring, Laura Ulrich, Saige Whipple, Emily Wolfgang, Cameron Yeagle, and Katylyn Young.