homepage logo

A look back at Renn Elementary

By Staff | Oct 9, 2012

A look back through The Luminary files shows the school’s dedication was held Oct 21, 1962. Then East Lycoming School District superintendent Paul Pauhamus organized the program with C. Randolph Kahler chairman of the building authority. Morton Lauchle accepted the building on behalf of the district. Keynote speaker was Ralph Smith, Superintendent of Lycoming County Schools. Dr. Renn’s nephew James Renn was present. Special music was provided by the elementary school chorus directed by Mrs. Myron Smith.

In 1962 school board members and townships represented included; Wilbur Rupert-Franklin; Dorwood Houseknecht-Hughesville; Mrs. Harriet Derrick-Jordan; Morton Lauchle-Mill Creek; Albert Snyder-Moreland; Mrs. June Shaner-Penn; Mrs. LeRoy Confer-Picture Rocks; Martin Little-Shrewsbury; and James Montague, Wolf.